Category Archives: 35th Season

B-Meg loses 1st game against ROS

Philippine Basketball Association 36th Season
2011 Governors Cup
B-Meg Llamados vs Rain or Shine Elasto Painters
Rain or Shine defeats B-Meg, 95-82

Rain or Shine spoiled the debut of Joe Devance, as ROS Import Arizona Reid dominated B-Meg Import Stefhon Hannah scoring 36 points and grabbing 17 rebounds against only 8 points (4 out of 23 shooting from the field) and 8 rebounds from Hannah.

James Yap led B-Meg Llamados with 17 points, 4 rebounds and 2 steals while Joe Devance contributed 14 points and 16 rebounds in his debut for the Llamados. Peter June Simon and Jerwin Gaco both had double digits in scoring with 14 and 10 points respectively. Game was held in Tacloban City to start the PBA Governors Cup.

No rotation of the ball for the Llamados as they only had 7 assists overall but led in rebounding 69-56, with Marc Pingris grabbing 20 rebounds (7 offensive). Also not a good 3-point shooting percentage for the team with James only 1 out of 8, Simon 0 out of 2, Villanueva 0 out of 3 and Import Hannah 0 out of 11.

Game scores:
Rain or Shine 95
– Reid 36, Chan 11, Norwood 10, Rodirguez 10, Belga 7, Buenafe 6, Arana 6,
Vanlandingham 4, Jazul 3, Kramer 2, Ibanes 0.

B-Meg – Yap 17, Simon 14, Devance 14, Gaco 10, Hannah 8, Allado 8, Pingris 5, Villanueva 3,
Escobal 3, Fernandez 0.

Quarterscores: 19-19, 44-31, 69-60, 95-82

Congratulations Alaska

Alaska Aces won the 100th PBA Championship by beating San Miguel Beermen in Game 6, 102-88. Alaska has now won 13 PBA titles since 1986 all with Tim Cone as Head Coach. LA Tenorio and Cyrus Baguio were named co-Finals Most Valuable Player (MVP).

After losing to the Purefoods TJ Giants on a 4-0 sweep in the Philippine Cup Finals, the Aces bounced back this conference beating Ginebra in the Quarterfinals (3-2), Talk N Text in the Semifinals (4-3) and San Miguel in the Finals (4-2).

Congratulations Alaska Aces!

Congratulations J. Yap, Maierhofer, Pingris, R. Yap

Leo Awards 2010 – 35th PBA Annual Awards

James Yap (Most Valuable Player and 1st Mythical Team)

Rico Maierhofer (Rookie of the Year)

Marc Pingris and Roger Yap(Not in Picture) (All-Defensive Team)

Roger Yap(Not in Picture) (2nd Mythical Team)

Other Awards:
LA Tenorio (Most Improved Player)
Cyrus Baguio (Sportsmanship Award)
1st Mythical Team (J.Yap/Washington/Santos/Tenorio/Thoss)
2nd Mythical Team (R.Yap/Cardona/Williams/Devance/Taulava)
All-Defensive Team (R.Yap/Pingris/Norwood/Reyes/Santos)

Congratulations James Yap MVP

Congratulations to James Yap as he was named Most Valuable Player for the 35th Season of the PBA during the PBA Annual Awards at the Araneta Coliseum. Yap received his 2nd MVP Award, the 1st was in the 2005-2006 Season.

In his emotional acceptance speech, Yap, dedicated his award to his son, Baby James (James Aquino Yap Jr.)

35th PBA Annual Awards

35th Philippine Basketball Association Annual Awards
Wednesday, August 11, 2010, 5:15pm, Araneta Coliseum

Candidates for Most Valuable Player (MVP)
James Yap
Jay Washington
Kelly Williams
Arwin Santos
Asi Taulava
Gabe Norwood
Mac Cardona
LA Tenorio

Candidates for Rookie of the Year (ROY)
Rico Maierhofer
Josh Urbiztondo
Jervy Cruz
Ronnie Matias
Chris Ross

Candidates for Most Improved Player (MIP)
Alex Cabagnot
JC Intal
Joe Devance
Solomon Mercado
Ranidel de Ocampo
LA Tenorio
Ronald Tubid

Candidates for Sportsmanship Award
Nino Canaleta
Cyrus Baguio
Dondon Hontiveros
Gabe Norwood
Ryan Reyes

* image above is from

Alaska beats San Miguel, now lead 2-0

Philippine Basketball Association
2010 Fiesta Conference Finals
Alaska Aces vs San Miguel Beermen
Alaska wins 94-90

Game scores:

Alaska 94 – Simpson 29, De Vance 14, Baguio 12, Dela Cruz 12, Borboran 8, Fonacier 7, Tenorio 6, Hugnatan 4, Cariaso 2, Robinson 0.

San Miguel 90 – Yeo 20, Washington 20, Santos 20, Freeman 13, Ildefonso 6, Cabagnot 5, Miranda 2, Racela 2, Villanueva 1, Hontiveros 1, Pennisi 0, Pena 0.

Talk N Text defeats Derby Ace

Philippine Basketball Association
2010 Fiesta Conference Battle for 3rd Place
B-Meg Derby Ace Llamados vs Talk N Text Tropang Texters
Talk N Text wins 113-95

The Talk N Text Tropang Texters settles for third place in the current PBA Fiesta conference as they beat B-Meg Derby Ace Llamados, 113-95. The game was close in the 1st half but TNT made a run in the 3rd quarter led by Mac Cardona with 30pts while Derby Ace decided to rest Tony Washam in the second half and James Yap in the 4th quarter.

Nino “KG” Canaleta and Peter June Simon led Derby Ace with 21pts and 18pts respectively in behalf of James Yap (only 8pts) who played sparingly.

In the Game 1 of the PBA finals, the Alaska Aces takes Game 1, 89-83 beating Best Player of the Conference, Jay Washington and Best Import of the Conference, Gabe Freeman.

Game scores:

Talk ‘N Text 113 – Cardona 30, Carey 24, De Ocampo 11, Yee 10, Castro 10, Williams 8, Dillinger 5, Alapag 5, Quinahan 4, Aban 4, Daniels 2.

Derby Ace 95 – Canaleta 21, Simon 18, Washam 11, Adducul 10, Yap R. 9, Yap J. 8, Timberlake 6, Salvador 6, Allado 4, Maierhofer 1, Artadi 1, Fernandez 0, Reavis 0.

Quarterscores: 26-23, 52-47, 88-67, 113-95

Battle for 3rd: Derby Ace vs Talk N Text

Philippine Basketball Association
2010 Fiesta Conference Battle for 3rd Place
B-Meg Derby Ace Llamados vs Talk N Text Tropang Texters
Friday, August 6, 2010, 5pm, Araneta Coliseum

Alaska Aces defeats Talk N Text Tropang Texters, 90-81 to setup a showdown in the PBA finals vs San Miguel Beermen, while B-Meg Derby Ace Llamados will now face Talk N Text Tropang Texters for 3rd place in 1 game playoff this Friday at 5pm. Derby Ace hopes to finish the PBA 35th season on a high note.

Derby Ace players Rico Maierhofer and James Yap also has a chance to win Rookie of the Year and Most Valuable Player awards, respectively which will be awarded before Game 3.

Please support our team in their last game this 35th Season.