Tag Archives: 2010 pba philippine cup

Heartbreaking loss by Derby Ace, Cabagnot takes Game Winner

Philippine Basketball Association 36th Season
2010-2011 Philippine Cup
B-Meg Derby Ace Llamados vs San Miguel Beermen
San Miguel wins 85-83

Alex Cabagnot made a game winning shot for two consecutive games as San Miguel wins its third straight game by beating the Derby Ace Llamados, 85-83. The Beermen was leading by 3 points, 83-80 when Peter June Simon made a big 3-point shot to tie the game but Cabagnot made a drive to the basket and made a difficult shot with 2 defenders to win the game.

James Yap led Derby Ace with 21 points and 7 rebounds but made only 3 points in the 4th quarter. Roger Yap had an all-around game with 6 points, 8 rebounds, 7 assists and 2 blocks. B-Meg led in rebounding 54-40 with Don Allado leading with 9 rebounds, but the Llamados committed 19 turnovers compared to only 11 by San Miguel. Derby Ace dropped to 1 win and 5 losses.

Jay Washington of San Miguel was thrown out in the third quarter for throwing the ball at Don Allado.

Game Scores:

San Miguel Beer 85 – Hontiveros 14, Seigle 11, Yeo 10, Ildefonso 10, Cabagnot 9, Santos 8, Miranda 7, Washington 4, Racela 4, Pena 4, Artadi 2, Pennisi 2.

Derby Ace 83 – Yap J 21, Villanueva 11, Salvador 10, Simon 9, Allado 9, Gaco 7, Yap R 6, Acuna 5, Maierhofer 5, Canaleta 0, Adducul 0.

Quarterscores: 23-16, 49-39, 64-60, 85-83