Tag Archives: pba 35th season

Congratulations J. Yap, Maierhofer, Pingris, R. Yap

Leo Awards 2010 – 35th PBA Annual Awards

James Yap (Most Valuable Player and 1st Mythical Team)

Rico Maierhofer (Rookie of the Year)

Marc Pingris and Roger Yap(Not in Picture) (All-Defensive Team)

Roger Yap(Not in Picture) (2nd Mythical Team)

Other Awards:
LA Tenorio (Most Improved Player)
Cyrus Baguio (Sportsmanship Award)
1st Mythical Team (J.Yap/Washington/Santos/Tenorio/Thoss)
2nd Mythical Team (R.Yap/Cardona/Williams/Devance/Taulava)
All-Defensive Team (R.Yap/Pingris/Norwood/Reyes/Santos)

James Yap for MVP?

James Yap for MVP
After winning the Best Player of the Conference and Finals MVP in the Philippine Cup, James Yap has a big chance to gain his second Most Valuable Player (MVP) Award this year despite the Derby Ace Llamados (Purefoods TJ Giants) losing in the semifinals vs San Miguel.

While Kerby Raymundo was nursing with an injury, James Yap led almost all the games of the Llamados as their leading scorer among all the locals. Even though there were a lot of distractions physically and emotionally for James, he almost carried the team to another finals appearance. Yap averaged 23PPG against Rain or Shine in the Quarterfinals and 16.33PPG against the tight defense of San Miguel in the Semifinals.

Do you think James Yap will win the MVP Award?

  • Yes (96%, 393 Votes)
  • No (4%, 18 Votes)

Total Voters: 411

Loading ... Loading ...

PBA Opens with Purefoods vs BK

Philippine Basketball Association 35th Season

1st Game
Sunday, October 11, 2009
Purefoods TJ Giants vs Burger King Whoppers
Araneta Coliseum

Purefoods TJ Giants Marc Pingris and Paul Artadi will make a comeback to the team this season, while Rookie Rico Maierhoffer will see action for the first time in the PBA. We’ll also see newcomers Rafi Reavis and another Rookie Chris Timberlake.